License required -- Penalty for unlawful practice
It's unlawful for any person to claim to be a podiatrist or to practice unless licensed by the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine. Upon conviction, the person shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned for not less than three (3) months nor more than one (1) year, or both. The fine and imprisonment are to be at the discretion of the court or jury. Each separate day on which any person practices or attempts to practice or holds out to practice, or does both, without the registration and certificate as provided in the rules and regulations shall constitute a separate and distinct offense.
Any person who wishes to practice podiatric medicine in this state should submit an application to the Secretary of the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine for a license.
License renewal date is June 30th each year. You may obtain a renewal form from the forms and publications section of this site.
The applicant should file with the secretary at least two (2) months prior to an examination an approved application, on a form furnished by the board covering the applicant's personal history and preliminary and professional education and such other evidence of qualification as the board may require.
All applicants for examination who provide the board with proper proof of their education and qualifications, upon payment of a fee to be established by the board in an amount not to exceed two hundred dollars ($200), shall be examined and, if found qualified, shall be registered and receive in testimony thereof a certificate signed by the members of the board.
Qualification of applicants
- Official application forms will be furnished upon request. No application for examination will be considered unless fully and completely filled out on this form and properly attested.
- No applicant will be admitted to the examination except on presentation of a recent unmounted photograph, or copy of a valid driver’s license prepared and certified together with statutory requirements, relating to pre-podiatric medical qualifications, age and moral character.
- Applicants shall present with the application, a recent unmounted photograph in size no larger than 3 ¼” x 5” inches, and signed by the Dean of the College of Podiatric Medicine of graduation, or copy of valid driver’s license.
- Applications should be sent to the Secretary of the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine.
- The fee for examination, as set by the Board shall accompany the application. The fee shall be sent in form of cashier’s check, draft or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.
- The applicant’s diploma from the appropriate college of podiatric medicine will be presented to the Board for verification on the first day of examination. A copy of the diploma must be included with the original application for licensure.
- The applicant will furnish with the original application transcripts under seal of the college or colleges of Podiatric Medicine attended. This may be a form of the School or photostatic copy of same.
- When an applicant has attended one or more years in a pre-podiatric medical or podiatric medical institution other than the one from which the applicant graduated, the applicant must file with the application a statement under seal from those institutions showing the time spent and the credit received, and what would have been the class standing at the succeeding regular term of study.
- Applicants shall provide themselves with pen and ink to be used in writing the examination. Paper and other materials will be furnished by the Board.
- All applications must be completed and filed in the office of the Secretary at least sixty (60) days prior to the State Board Examination.
- The application is subject to the rules and regulations of the Board and all laws pertaining to the state of Arkansas at the time of consideration of the application by the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine.
- All examinations shall be conducted in English.
- A statement must be submitted by the applicant as to their intent to practice in Arkansas and what kind of practice the applicant intends to conduct. This statement must be properly acknowledged by a Notary Public.
- The applicants for examination must fill out pages 1 and 2 of the application completely and in detail.
- All examinations shall be conducted in the presence of at least one member of the Board and may consist of written, oral, or clinical sections or of any one section entirely. In the event the applicant fails to pass, the applicant may appear before the Board for not more than two examinations, all of which must be taken within a period of six months from the date of the first examination of the applicant.
- An applicant must have official documentation sent to the Secretary of the Board from the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners that a passing score was achieved by the applicant on the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination (APMLE) Part I and Part II of the National Board Examination. Official Documentation of a passing score of the Part III Examination (formerly known as The Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination for States (PMLexis). may also be provided in lieu of taking the examination of the Board.
A temporary license to practice podiatric medicine in this state may be issued to a person who meets all the qualifications for licensure with the exception of the residency requirement while participating in a full-time podiatric residency program. This program must be approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association. This person shall practice under the supervision of a licensed and qualified podiatrist of this state. The Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine must be notified in writing of this supervisory status by the residency director of the program. The board shall also receive in writing the name of the podiatrist who will act as the supervisor and an agreement to act in the capacity of a supervisor.
The temporary license will be in effect for a period of one (1) year after the date of issue. The board shall not issue a certificate to practice podiatric medicine if the applicant does not present proof of the successful completion of the residency program.
A podiatrist practicing podiatric medicine with a temporary license may be suspended or may have the temporary license revoked under the same provisions for the revocation of licensure or suspension of a fully licensed podiatrist.
The board shall not issue a certificate to practice podiatric medicine if the applicant does not present proof of the successful completion of the residency program. The proof of residency completion accompanied by the licensing renewal fee must be presented to the board within thirty (30) days of completion of the residency program or the applicant shall be required to submit a new application for licensure.